Wednesday, December 12, 2012

SSA Adds another 35 Conditions to Compassionate Allowances Program

Following the modest addition of a single condition of the Social Security Administration (SSA) in its Compassionate Allowances Program last July, the federal agency recently announced its generous addition to the program which is composed of 35 new conditions.

In its recent press release, SSA Commissioner Michael J. Astrue announced that the agency added 35 more conditions to its Compassionate Allowance Program currently  in effect.

Consequently, the total number of conditions in the accelerated disability process reached 200.

Apparently, the agency’s program is purposely designed to quickly identify diseases and other medical conditions that could make a person eligible to receive disability benefits. The program is intended to speed up disability decisions to ensure that Americans will receive their benefits within days of filing their application, instead of months or even years. Existing conditions listed on the program include certain cancers, adult brain disorders, and a number of rare medical conditions that generally affect children.

Since the agency began the program in 2008 until present, the disability benefits applications of approximately 200,000 people with severe disabilities over the country have been promptly approved in less than a couple of weeks, Astrue proudly revealed.

Incidentally, the conditions included in the program are so severe to the point that they do not have to be fully developed for the agency to make a decision regarding the applicants’ employment history. Consequently, the agency slashed out a certain part in the application process for people who have a condition enlisted on the program.

For details of the newly added conditions, a Los Angeles social security disability lawyer herein quoted the same below for readers’ ready reference:

1.    Adult Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma
2.    Adult Onset Huntington Disease
3.    Allan-Herndon-Dudley Syndrome
4.    Alveolar Soft Part Sarcoma
5.    Aplastic Anemia
6.    Beta Thalassemia Major
7.    Bilateral Optic Atrophy- Infantile
8.    Caudal Regression Syndrome – Types III and IV
9.    Child T-Cell Lymphoblastic Lymphoma
10.    Congenital Lymphedema
11.    DeSanctis Cacchione Syndrome
12.    Dravet Syndrome
13.    Endometrial Stromal Sarcoma
14.    Erdheim Chester Disease
15.    Fatal Familial Insomnia
16.    Fryns Syndrome
17.    Fulminant Giant Cell Myocrditis
18.    Hepatopulmonary Syndrome
19.    Hepatorenal Syndrome
20.    Jervell and Lange-Nielsen Syndrome
21.    Leiomyosarcoma
22.    Malignant Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumor
23.    Malignant Germ Cell Tumor
24.    MECP 2 Duplication Syndrome
25.    Menkes Disease - Classic or Infantile Onset Form
26.    NFU-1 Mitochondrial Disease
27.    Non-Ketotic Hyperglcinemia
28.    Peritoneal Mucinous Carcinomatosis
29.    Phelan- McDermid Syndrome
30.    Retinopathy of Prematurity - Stage V
31.    Roberts Syndrome
32.    Severe Combined Immunodeficiency - Childhood
33.    Sinonasal Cancer
34.    Transplant Coronary Artery Vasculopathy
35.    Usher Syndrome - Type I

For further details regarding the complete list of the Compassionate Allowances Program, you could visit the agency’s official webpage,